Consultation response

10 July 2019

Sir Donald Brydon’s Independent Review into the Quality and Effectiveness of Audit

We have responded to Sir Donald Brydon’s Independent Review into the Quality and Effectiveness of Audit (the Review).

Accountancy Europe supports that companies and auditors provide more meaningful and transparent reporting and assurance to a wider audience, for instance on going concern issues, internal controls, non-financial reporting, etc. We embrace digitalisation, which can help improve fraud risk assessments. Communicating audit findings can be developed beyond Key Audit Matters – strong skills and expertise in multidisciplinary firms are needed to deliver on this. Such change will also require reconsidering director’s and auditor’s responsibilities and liability.

We acknowledge the expectation gap which consists of three facets: knowledge, performance and evolution gaps. A holistic and pragmatic approach to audit quality focusing on exercising professional skepticism and meeting stakeholders’ demands should respond, at least partly, to these gaps.

Related content

EventThe path to high-quality non-financial information assurance

26 November 2020

Consultation responseProposed ISA 600 (Revised): Special Considerations – Audits of Group Financial Statement

13 October 2020

EventImplementing ESEF

12 October 2020

Podcast Accountants & the fight against financial crime (Part 2)

2 October 2020

Podcast The EU & the fight against financial crime (Part 1)

18 September 2020

Consultation responseIAASB’s consultation on proposed guidance: extended external reporting (EER) assurance

24 July 2020

Consultation responseEC’s consultation on AML action plan

16 July 2020

In the mediaQuandary over future European supervisor, stakeholders give their opinions

25 June 2020

PublicationHow do multidisciplinary teams contribute to audit quality?

24 June 2020

PublicationSetting up for high-quality non-financial information assurance in Europe

12 June 2020

EventThe EU’s fight against financial crime: Diving into the Anti-Money Laundering Action plan

10 June 2020

PublicationCoronacrisis: actions for the public sector

28 May 2020

PublicationCoronacrisis: short-term actions for the public sector

28 May 2020

NewsAccountancy Europe supports new EU action against money laundering

8 May 2020

PublicationOur work on the future of audit & assurance

4 May 2020

PublicationThe scope of bank audits in Europe

8 April 2020

Consultation responseEC’s consultation on the Directive for Administrative Cooperation in Direct Taxation

2 April 2020

EventPostponed: Enhancing reliability of non-financial information

23 March 2020

PublicationTowards reliable non-financial information across Europe

19 February 2020

PublicationIndependent assurance on the European Single Electronic Format

19 December 2019

Sign up for our newsletter

* indicates required
Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?
On which topics would you like to receive news?