Consultation response

10 July 2019

Sir Donald Brydon’s Independent Review into the Quality and Effectiveness of Audit

We have responded to Sir Donald Brydon’s Independent Review into the Quality and Effectiveness of Audit (the Review).

Accountancy Europe supports that companies and auditors provide more meaningful and transparent reporting and assurance to a wider audience, for instance on going concern issues, internal controls, non-financial reporting, etc. We embrace digitalisation, which can help improve fraud risk assessments. Communicating audit findings can be developed beyond Key Audit Matters – strong skills and expertise in multidisciplinary firms are needed to deliver on this. Such change will also require reconsidering director’s and auditor’s responsibilities and liability.

We acknowledge the expectation gap which consists of three facets: knowledge, performance and evolution gaps. A holistic and pragmatic approach to audit quality focusing on exercising professional skepticism and meeting stakeholders’ demands should respond, at least partly, to these gaps.

Related content

Team memberHarun Saki

22 July 2019

Consultation responseIAASB’s consultation on Extended External Reporting (EER) assurance

27 June 2019

BlogBetter business decisions with assurance on non-financial information

20 June 2019

Blog7 ways accountants can help companies get more sustainable

24 April 2019

Team memberJúlia Bodnárová

18 April 2019

In the mediaEvolution of SME audit in Europe from the perspective of the legislation and auditing standards

10 April 2019

Consultation responseEC’s TEG preliminary recommendations on EU green bond standard

8 April 2019

Stories from PracticeVolunteering for a more human approach

7 January 2019

Publication10 Most popular publications of 2018

11 December 2018

PublicationCore & More in practice

9 October 2018

NewsOur work towards the Future of Corporate Reporting

9 October 2018

Stories from practiceEmpowering accountants in emerging economies

1 October 2018

PublicationReporting key audit matters in the EU banking sector

28 September 2018

NewsDigital Day 2018: audit session summary

5 September 2018

Stories from practiceChange is in the air? Help a country: send in the auditors

5 September 2018

Consultation responseIOSCO’s report on good practices for audit committees in supporting audit quality

16 July 2018

PublicationProviding support in tax controls and assurance

31 May 2018

Stories from practiceAuditing the coast, saving the beaches

30 May 2018

In the mediaIFAC Gateway – Simplifying Auditing Standards for Small or Non-Complex Entities–Exploring Possible Solutions

18 May 2018

PublicationResponding to assurance needs on non-financial information

15 May 2018

Sign up for our newsletter